About Ray

My philosophy

A photo is primarily the imprint of time, it is the mirror of our intimacy. It's a present frozen without past or future. It feeds our imagination, it fantasizes our memories, it can as well enhance a reality that may not have existed as it nurtures the emotion of the memory of the moment it was captured.

Our intimate self thus revealed requires a non-judgmental, unbiased gaze. Opening up to the photographer demands trust and a letting go that releases us from our fears, our apprehensions, from our mirror reflection.

The experience of modeling thus teaches us about ourselves, about who we truly are without facade and without the artifices demanded by social conventions. This experience allows us to reveal ourselves to ourselves and to eternally capture this moment which we will remember forever.

Our memory recalls from the Other a detail of their skin, their face, their body, but rarely the entire being. Our memory freezes the image of the Other like a fraction of a second but feeds our memories for years.

The photographer is the witness to this moment of intimacy, and it's important to choose this witness wisely, as they alone will likely hold up the mirror to your innermost self before you.

À propos

Ma philosophie

Une photo est d’abord l’empreinte du temps, elle est le miroir de notre intime. C’est un présent figé sans passé ni avenir. Elle nourrit notre imaginaire, elle fantasme nos souvenirs, elle peut tout autant sublimer une réalité qui n’a peut-être pas existé comme elle nourrit l’émotion du souvenir de l’instant où elle a été prise.

Notre intime ainsi dévoilé demande un regard sans jugement sans a priori. S’ouvrir au photographe demande ainsi de la confiance et un lâcher-prise qui nous délivre de nos peurs, de nos craintes, de notre reflet du miroir.

L’expérience de modèle nous apprend ainsi sur nous-même, sur ce que nous sommes véritablement sans far et sans les artifices que nous demandent les conventions sociales. Cette expérience nous permet de nous révéler à nous-même et de fixer éternellement ce moment dont nous nous souviendrons à jamais.

Notre mémoire nous rappelle de l’Autre un détail de sa peau, de son visage, de son corps, mais rarement de l’être entier. Notre mémoire nous fige l’image de l’Autre comme une fraction de seconde mais nourrit nos souvenirs pour des années.

Le photographe est le témoin de ce moment d’intimité et il est important de bien choisir ce témoin, car c’est sans doute lui seul qui tiendra devant vous le miroir de votre intime.